It’s the Small Things

11140264_10153266638532558_7681360910113270456_n-1

It’s funny how so many of us complain about the ‘bad’ things that we come across; how ‘unfair’ life has been, how nothing just seems to be going your way, how no matter how hard you try, you still don’t receive even half its reward. Ye, sure, it sucks, I myself should know because lately life hasn’t been dealing me the best of cards.

As I sit in my underwear just thinking about how my life is looking at the moment, I wonder what it would be like if ever one thing went right. Would I still be the same person? Would I be doing something different? Would I have met the people that I’ve met? And that’s when it hit me. I don’t want to regret meeting the people I have met. I don’t want to take back the fun memories I have shared with these people, the events, the laughs, the deep conversations. Who would I be without them?

Sometimes we complain about life, and sure, it’s OK to do so I guess. I mean who wants to wait six years to receive a degree he’s already finished right? Not me that’s for sure. Anyways, back to me pondering. I now am more aware of the little things that have gotten me through all these ‘trials’ as I call it. My family who for some reason I can never shake off because no matter how much I mess up, they just seem to be there loving me. My friends, who even in a different country, still manage to message and virtually slap me with some senses. The new friends, who after a small time of knowing them, have already known enough to know that they were meant to be in my journey.

My heart ache and general pain towards my life have also led me to notice the little things that makes me smile. Even with a heartbreak in the back of my mind (or heart even), I still find the elderly couple sharing funny pet videos on the train adorable. Even with struggling to find an ‘adult’ job, I’m enjoying my time as a bartender, talking to customers and just being in that social environment. Even with wishing some good news would come my way, I am enjoying this moment of my life, where I am learning more about myself and how appreciating the small things can go a long way.

So, yes, maybe you do deserve life to be kinder to you. But if you think it’s still being a bit rough on you, just think, a diamond is never at its perfect shape without some major friction; so just consider these little rough moments as life’s friction to turn you into that engagement-type-diamond where at the end, people can show you off. Just be patient, let life go through its process with you, till then, appreciate the little things. It makes the journey more bearable that way.

Leave a Reply

